News Find out what's happening across the Aerowaves dance network

Meet the Springback Academy Class of 2020!

Meet the Springback Academy Class of 2020!

The Springback Academy 2020 selection is out and we are delighted to welcome 11 new writers on board!  The winning team is of not 10 but 11 successful Springback candidates. The quality of this year's applications was exceptionally high, and so Springback Academy has decided to move its own goal-posts and sign extra talent as it moves up a league.

  • Greta Pieropan (Italy)
  • Jonas Schildermans (Belgium)
  • Kosta Karakashyan (Bulgaria)
  • Lorenzo Conti (Italy)
  • Lydia Wharf (United Kingdom)
  • Maxine Smiles (United Kingdom)
  • Oluwaseun S. Olayiwola (USA/ UK)
  • Rachel Burke (Ireland)
  • Sendi Bakotić (Croatia)
  • Simon Froehling (Switzerland/Australia)
  • Zee Hartmann (The Netherlands/ Soutth Africa)


Our new writers will be mentored by the dream team of dance critics Donald Hutera (The Times), Sanjoy Roy (The Guardian), Kelly Apter (The Scotsman) and Laura Cappelle (New York Times) at Spring Forward in Rijeka from Friday 24 to Sunday 26 April. Under the coordination of Oonagh Duckworth and the guidance of these four experienced dance writers, they will have the chance to write reviews about the festival performances and to develop their critical writing skills for a number of different formats. Congrats and welcome!


Picture: Springback Academy 2019 class on Critical Issues. 

Back to News

Find dance performances by Aerowaves Twenty artists



Muffathalle, Munich, Germany


FLY! / Markéta Stránská

Žďár nad Sázavou, Highlands, Czech republic